Alabama has a slightly negative set of Lemon Laws. The number
of repair attempts required for a car to qualify as a lemon is high, and the repair period is relatively short.
Alabama Lemon Law Rating: 2 (Slightly Negative- Slightly favors the manufacturer)
- All vehicles intended for family, highway use that way less than 10,000 pounds
- Includes some smaller motor homes
- Includes motorcycles
What constitutes a "lemon":
- Three unsucessful repair attempts (plus one last attempt)
- 30 calendar days out of service (plus 14 days during the last attempt)
- The first repair attempt must have been attempted within one year or 12,000 miles. All repair attempts must have been attempted within the first two years or 24,000 miles.
What to do if you suspect you have a lemon in Alabama:
- Immediately draft a letter to the manufacturer of your automobile
informing them of the defects you are experiencing. That notification letter must be sent via certified mail
- You will be required to give the manufacturer one last attempt to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer will have 7 days to notify you where to take the vehicle and 14 days to make this repair.
- Ensure that you save ALL documentation related to your automobile
Lemon Laws in Other States