Florida's lemon laws are moderate relative to those of other states.
The number of repair attempts required for a car to qualify as a lemon is
high, which favors the manufacturer, but the warranty period is also longer
than that of most states, which favors the consumer.
Florida Lemon Law Rating: 3 (neutral - neither in
favor of nor against the consumer)
- New family vehicles
- Excludes motorcycles and ATVs
- Excludes the habitable portion of a motor home as well as the chassis
What constitutes a "lemon":
- Three attempts to repair the vehicle OR
- 30 calendar days out of service
What to do if you suspect you have a lemon in Florida:
- The first of 18 months or 24,000 miles
- Immediately draft a letter to the manufacturer of your automobile
informing them of the defects you are experiencing. It is a good idea
to send this letter via certified mail.
- Ensure that you save ALL documentation related to your automobile
*Life-threatening defects that can qualify your car as a lemon include
loss of steering, sudden stalling, loss of braking, and other extremely
Lemon Laws in Other States