State Lemon Laws

Massachusetts Lemon Law Advice


Massachusetts' Lemon Law slightly favor the manufacturer. The number of repair attempts required for a car to qualify as a lemon is high, although the term that the law is valid for is relatively short. However, Massachusetts does provide some protection for used cars.

Massachusetts Lemon Law Rating: 2 (slightly negative - slightly favors the manufacturer)

Vehicles Covered:

  • Cars, trucks and vans that were bought or leased in Massachusetts
  • Includes motorcycles
  • Excludes vehicles designed for non-family use

What constitutes a "lemon":

  • Three repair attempts
  • 15 business days out of service
Valid for:
  • One year or 15,000 miles

Used Car Lemon Law:

  • Massachusetts has a rather extensive used car lemon law. It protects the consumer whether the car was purchased from a dealer or a private party (although different regulations apply).

What to do if you suspect you have a lemon in Massachusetts:

  • Immediately draft a letter to the manufacturer of your automobile informing them of the defects you are experiencing. That notification letter must be sent via certified mail
  • You will be required to give the manufacturer one last attempt to repair the vehicle.
  • Ensure that you save ALL documentation related to your automobile repairs

Home
Lemon Laws in Other States
 


 
We are consumer advocates, not a law firm. Information on this website should not be taken as legal advice, and you should consult a lawyer before taking legal action. Although we have taken the utmost care in assembling this information, Online Consumer Alliance Incorporated assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of this information or liability for any errors or omissions in the content. Copyright Online Consumer Alliance Incorporated 2004. All Rights Reserved.