North Carolina has a relatively negative set of Lemon Laws. The number
of repair attempts required for a car to qualify as a lemon is high, the valid period is relatively long. However, the definition of vehicles covered is rather broad.
North Carolina Lemon Law Rating: 1 ( Negative- favors the manufacturer)
- All vehicles sold or leased in North Carolina weigh less than 10,000 pounds
- Includes the motorized section of motor homes (as long as the motor home weighs less than 10,000 pounds)
- Includes motorcycles, mopeds and off-road vehicles
What constitutes a "lemon":
- Four unsucessful repair attempts (plus one last attempt after the manufacturer has been notified)
- 20 business days out of service
- The defects must be reported within the first 12,000 miles or one year of service, whichever is greater.
- The terms of the law apply until 24,000 miles or two years of service.
What to do if you suspect you have a lemon in North Carolina:
- Immediately draft a letter to the manufacturer of your automobile
informing them of the defects you are experiencing. That notification letter must be sent via certified mail
- You will be required to give the manufacturer one last attempt to repair your vehicle.
- Ensure that you save ALL documentation related to your automobile
Lemon Laws in Other States