New Jersey has a consumer friendly set of Lemon Laws, that are stronger than most states. New Jersey features a law that applies to used cars. The number
of repair attempts required for a car to qualify as a lemon is high but
the warranty period is relatively long. The
definition of what vehicles are covered is broad - these favor the consumer. Additionally, New Jersey is rare in that it has a Used Car Lemon law.
New Jersey Lemon Law Rating: 4 (somewhat positive - slightly favors the consumer)
- New vehicles that were purchased, leased or registered in NJ.
- Includes motorcycles, and the non-livable quarters of motor homes
- Excludes commercial vehicles
What constitutes a "lemon":
- Three attempts to repair a defect that impairs the use, safety of value of the vehicle (plus one final attempt at repair after the manufacturer has been notified)
- 20 calendar days out of service (plus the time of the final repair attempt)
- 18,000 miles or 2 years, whichever comes sooner
- Used Cars - It depends on the mileage of the car:
- Less than 24,000 miles: 90 days or 3,000 miles
- Less than 60,000 miles: 60 days or 2,000 miles
- Less than 100,000 miles: 30 days or 1,000 miles
What to do if you suspect you have a lemon in New Jersey:
- Immediately draft a letter to the manufacturer of your automobile
informing them of the defects you are experiencing. That notification letter must be sent via certified mail
- You will need to give the manufacturer one last chance to repair the vehicle..
- Ensure that you save ALL documentation related to your automobile
Lemon Laws in Other States